1. Drivers site
  2. Toll / road information
  3. Road overview
  4. E30 Seto-Chuo Expressway (Seto-Ohashi Bridges)

E30 Seto-Chuo Expressway (Seto-Ohashi Bridges)

A group of two-level, long-span bridges with expressway on upper deck and railway on lower deck

It is a combined expressway and railway route passing through the center of the elegant archipelago in the Seto Inland Sea, which was the first in Japan to be designated as a national park. Leading the way for the Honshu-Shikoku Bridge three routes, it was opened in 1988. The route is 37.3 km of expressway and 32.4 km of railway, and the six bridges that span the 9.4km strait are known collectively as the Seto-Ohashi Bridges. The sight of one of the world's longest group of long-span bridges, suspension, cable-stayed and truss bridges, is truly spectacular.

Details Between Hayashima IC and Sakaide IC
1. Route name National Route 30
2. Section in operation From: 2722-2, Aza-Karato, Oaza-Hayashima, Hayashima town, Tsukubo-gun, Okayama Pref. (Hayashima IC)
To: 3791-1, Kawatsu town, Sakaide city, Kagawa Pref. (Sakaide IC)
3. Length

Number of bridges: 42, Total length: 20.8km (Among them, Shimotsui-Seto Bridge 1,400m, Hitsuishijima Bridge 790m, Iwakurojima Bridge 790m, Yoshima Bridge 850m, Kita Bisan-Seto Bridge 1,538m, Minami Bisan-Seto Bridge 1,648m)
Number of tunnels: 4, Total length: 1.5 km (Shomenzan tunnel 538 m, Yanagita tunnel 387 m, Shionasu tunnel 408 m, Washuzan tunnel 205 m)
Earthwork section approx. 15.0km

4. Construction costs Approx. 640 billion yen
5. Start of service April 10, 1988 Between Hayashima IC and Sakaide IC
6. Service status

National Highway with access control

Between Hayashima and Sakaide IC
Number of lanes: 4, Speed limit: 80 km/h (between Kojima IC and Sakaide IC) and 100 km/h (between Hayashima IC and Kojima IC)

Connects with Sanyo Expressway at Hayashima IC and Takamatsu Expressway at Sakaide IC

Note) Construction cost is the cost required for construction of part already in service.

Shimotsui-Seto Bridge
(Completed in 1988)
Suspension bridge (Total length: 1,400 m, Center span: 940 m)
Hitsuishijima Bridge
(Completed in 1988)
Cable stayed bridge (Total length: 790 m, Center span: 420 m)
Iwakurojima Bridge
(Completed in 1988)
Cable stayed bridge (Total length: 790 m, Center span: 420 m)
Yoshima Bridge
(Completed in 1988)
Truss bridge (Total length: 850 m, Maximum span: 245 m)
Kita Bisan-Seto Bridge
(Completed in 1988)
Suspension bridge (Total length: 1,538 m, Center span: 990 m)
Minami Bisan-Seto Bridge
(Completed in 1988)
Suspension bridge (Total length: 1,648 m, Center span: 1,100 m)

See here for the history of the Seto-Ohashi Bridges and event information

Seto-Ohashi Bridges
You can see an introduction to the Seto-Ohashi Bridges (Seto-Chuo Expressway), information on visiting the Seto-Ohashi Bridges and events, and blogs by staffs working for the Bridges.